Joseph B. Martin's Dean's Leadership Awards for the Advancement of Women Faculty


The JCSW has been awarding Leaders in Advancing Women’s Careers since 1998, when the first Dean’s Award for Leadership in the Advancement of Women Faculty was established. Former Dean of the Faculty of Medicine, Joseph B. Martin, M.D., Ph.D., initiated this award to recognize faculty members for lifetime achievement in the recruitment, retention and advancement of women at Harvard Medical School and Harvard School of Dental Medicine. In 2007, the Award was renamed the “Joseph B. Martin Dean's Leadership Award for the Advancement of Women” to honor Dr. Martin for his long-standing support of the mission it recognizes.

  • Candidates may be of any gender and may be nominated by any HMS/HSDM faculty member.
  • The award recipients will be recommended by the JCSW Dean’s Award Selection Subcommittee and selected by George Q. Daley, M.D., Ph.D., Dean of the Faculty of Medicine.
  • The faculty awardees will be recognized at the Spring Faculty of Medicine meeting and the June 2022 JCSW joint committee meeting.

    Evaluation Criteria for the Joseph B. Martin Dean’s Leadership Award for the Advancement of Women Faculty:
  • This award recognizes a lifetime of achievement. Each nominee should be sufficiently established in their career such that they made a truly notable contribution to the advancement of women faculty.
  • Ideally this faculty member will have set an example not only as a mentor, but also as a model and an activist whose efforts have extended more broadly within our institution or nationally.
  • Nominees eligible for this award include faculty members who serve in any capacity within HMS or HSDM.  Exceptions to this eligibility include those faculty members currently serving in a decanal role.
  • Ordinarily, the recipient of this award is an associate or full professor with 20 or more years on faculty at HMS or elsewhere.
  • Please note that, if deemed more appropriate, the committee may change this nomination packet for consideration of the Shirley Driscoll Dean’s Leadership Award for the Enhancement of Women’s Careers, or for the Early Career Award if the above criteria are not met.

Nomination Information and Guidelines

  • All nominations and letters of support must be received NO LATER THAN February 14, 2022.
  • A nomination form must be submitted on behalf of the nominee in order to be considered for this award.  Find the nomination form here.
  • For all faculty awards, candidates who have previously been nominated may be re-nominated; previous nominations can be re-submitted with a one-page addendum that includes any relevant updates.

Nomination Form

  • One nomination form must be submitted in order for nominees to be considered for this award.

Letters of Support

  • Up to 2 letters of support (approximately 2 pgs of length each) will be accepted for each nominee. These forms should be uploaded into the nomination form.
  • Multiple supporters may sign one letter
  • Letters should contain information that is supplementary to the information on the nomination form

Letters should provide specific details and examples documenting accomplishments of the nominee in each of the following areas: 

  1. How long nominee has served in their leadership role
  2. Outreach efforts to recruit, retain, and promote women faculty and trainees (e.g. appointments in executive positions) and/or help establish them in position of leadership elsewhere
  3. Effective retention strategies
  4. Enhancing the ability of women faculty and trainees to attain their full career potential
  5. Support for programs to assist with career/family balance
  6. Development of an environment conducive to career development
  7. Has the nominee had impact upon women's careers at the national level?


If you have any questions about nominations or this award, please contact​ Diana Longden, JCSW Administrative Coordinator.

Click here for a printable version of these instructions.

Thank you for your interest and efforts in nominating an outstanding candidate. Your participation in selecting a deserving recipient of this important award is greatly appreciated.